Motherboard and static problem [Long/Serious thread]

ThunderrFruit

Reputable
Feb 26, 2014
So I recently ordered a motherboard, case, PSU and CPU for an upcoming build (going to order the rest of the parts pretty soon) and I started building the thing already

It's my first build ever and I had a LOT of trouble installing the motherboard in the case, in the end all was ok. But I keep thinking: "What if the board is charged of static?". I did not think about grounding myself really when building it nor do I know any other way of protecting the parts from static. I also recall touching the motherboard with a wool polo...

Is there any way to "discharge" all the static that might be in the motherboard or am I over panicking this whole thing? By the way, I never plugged the power on when building it I just plugged the cable of the PSU/fans in the motherboard when I was done.

Solution
Your system is probably just fine as long as you were working on a bench/table/counter-top of some sort. Often the static problem comes up when working on carpeting/rugs.
You can easily get rid of any static you think may be in the system (assuming you have already mounted the PSU in the case).
Make certain that the power switch on the PSU is switched OFF.
Plug the PSU power cord into a grounded wall socket (the socket accepts a 3 prong plug - two for power and one for grounding)
Any static charge in the system should simply discharge into the wall socket
Even simpler, touch the metal of the case with one hand and something sittingon the floor made of metal.

bucknutty

Distinguished