Question Motherboard is on, fans won’t turn on, power button does nothing

Aug 2, 2021
Hey y’all! First of all here’s my build

Motherboard: ROG Strix X570-I Gaming
CPU: Ryzen 9 3900X
PSU: Corsair RM750
RAM: Gskill 16 GB x2 (total of 32GB)
Case: Metalicgear Neo Sil
I have a graphics card coming but it’s not here yet so I know that at least can’t be the problem.

This is my first build, but I’ve had help from a couple of friends who have built PCs before, but they haven’t been able to figure this out either. When I turn my PSU on my mobo lights up just fine, but when I hit the power button nothing happens. No twitch in the fans, it doesn’t light up, no beeps, nothing.
I’ve verified twice that everything is plugged in where it’s supposed to be, all the USB ports including the ones right next to the power button work, and I’ve removed everything but the CPU and it still hasn’t powered on so I can’t figure it out.

Help is really appreciated this has been driving me nuts!

When I turn my PSU on my mobo lights up just fine, but when I hit the power button nothing happens. No twitch in the fans, it doesn’t light up, no beeps, nothing.
Probably one of these:
improperly connected power button.​
something is shorting out,​
bad motherboard,​
bad PSU.​
Can you show a photo of your system (motherboard view), to see, how everything is connected?
(upload to imgur.com and post link)

Reactions: Blazing melody
Aug 2, 2021
I'm not quite sure why your fans aren't spinning, but your CPU doesn't have integrated graphic. So you won't receive any graphic signals to your monitor.
I should have mentioned this but I actually don’t have the monitor yet either— all I’m trying to do right now is make sure the PC is functioning at all.

chaoyang

Reputable
Oct 24, 2019
I should have mentioned this but I actually don’t have the monitor yet either— all I’m trying to do right now is make sure the PC is functioning at all.