Mar 29, 2019
Hi guys, I am upgrading my gaming pc, one part at a time, (some new parts & some second hand) & first of all I just want to thank everyone who helped me choose a decent psu, I’m very new to pc building & You’ve all been incredibly helpful & welcoming.

So, my rig is:
Gigabyte GA-H81M-S2H motherboard,
(with LGA-1150 socket),
Intel Core i7 4790k CPU,
Cryorig H7Plus CPU cooler (twin fan),
16GB(2X8) Corsair Vengeance RAM@1600,
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W PSU,
Asus Rog Strix GTX 1080ti GPU,
Kingston 120GB Now300V SSD,
Seagate 1TB HDD-(soon to be replaced with a 1TB SSD),
Super Writemaster DVD Multi optical drive,
My case is a CiT Neptune Mid-Tower Case,
(with 2 case fans).

My PC is only used for gaming & I enjoy using it with my Oculus Rift CV1 VR aswell.
The next thing I want to upgrade is my motherboard to something more gaming spec’ to make better use of my processor. I am not planning on changing my CPU or RAM at the moment, so I’m looking at sticking with the LGA1150 socket.
I really like the ASUS ROG Motherboards & was thinking of getting one of the ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VII motherboards but:
[A]: I’ve read on here that they’re not good motherboards for inexperienced builders & are far from “plug & play” & also have a complicated BIOS.
I’ll be honest, I find the BiOS settings daunting, as I’m very inexperienced at getting pc’s up & running & I don’t want to get out of my depth.
[&B]: I don’t understand the difference between the different models (such as Hero, Ranger, Formula, Impact, etc),
[Also C]: I understand I will need to transfer my windows licence over when I replace the motherboard & I do not have a Windows disc or anything, as my PC was originally bought as a custom build, made for me by a shop that no longer exists & I understand that my Windows installation was just put on there from an “image”? Does that make sense? So that’s another big worry for me.