[SOLVED] MSI B560M PRO-VDH WIFI mobo w/ Intel i5 11400F - Max. memory speed possible with XMP Profile?

666abhi666

Commendable
Jun 25, 2019
Hello, I'm a noob trying to build my first gaming PC (nothing high end) and have settled on Intel's i5 11400F and MSI's B560M PRO-VDH WIFI motherboard for now.
My questions are:
  1. The motherboard specification (link) lists "2133/ 2666/ 2933/ 3200 MHz" as the speeds (or frequencies?) for 11th gen processors. Are these speeds before or after enabling the XMP profile?
  2. If the above speeds are before enabling XMP, how do I find the maximum speed I can have after enabling XMP?
  3. The mobo specification also lists overclocking speeds ranging from 4000 MHz to 5066 MHz. Are these the speeds I get with an overclocked processor or are they the result of enabling XMP?
  4. Will the maximum XMP speed be limited by the processor or the chipset in this particular case?
I'm also open to suggestions if the current processor/mobo combination is not "recommended".

Thank you for your help.

Edit: I missed to mention, I can pick a RAM that can run at the max. XMP speed possible, so it's not a limiting factor for me at this point.

Last edited:
Solution
No I meant only about ram speed. B560 allows xmp overclocking, running faster ram than previously allowed on older Bx60 (and Hx70 / Hx10) chipsets where xmp didn't increase ram frequency. B460 for example was limited to cpu memory controller and only Z series boards could run faster ram.

11th gen, your 11400, 3200 is native ram speed, see memory specification.
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/u...11400-processor-12m-cache-up-to-4-40-ghz.html

Intel has removed restrictions regarding xmp on B560 chipset motherboards.

boju

Titan
Ambassador