MSI GS63 7RD or HP Pavilion Power?

shuraim26

Reputable
Jun 9, 2015
Hello. I'm an engineering student in third year of computer science.

I'm looking to get a good laptop for college with the side gaming capabilities.

First off, I know many people would just recommend me to build a budget gaming PC and buy a cheap usable laptop for college. Let me point out that it's not feasible for me. As an engineering student, I'll be coding a lot, running VMs and sometimes multiple OS. So a cheap CPU won't cut it for me. Also, I can't spare the space in my home for just a PC. I'm also not such a hardcore gamer. Medium to high settings with 30+ fps is more than enough for me.

As a student, I'll be carrying the laptop around fairly frequently, so it should fairly light(Maximum 2.5 kg). It should also be fairly slim(Maximum 1 inch). I'm okay with average battery life that is 4-5 hours on non gaming usage. I can't even ask more from a gaming laptop. Most importantly, I don't want a gamery laptop that screams red. I'll be taking it to college a lot and internships too, so I have to have a professional looking laptop. And finally my budget is around Rs. 70000 ($1000).

Note : Prices here in India are higher than that of US.

Since I'm just a casual gamer, I figured that there are 2 gpu laptops I could choose from:
1. MX150
2. GTX 1050

I first thought of going with the mx150, but I think that this gpu will become obsolete within the next year after which games will be unplayable. Also they sport a weaker but power efficient U series processor. But on the other hand, mx150 laptops are very professional looking, slim, light, and have amazing battery life.