MSI GTX 1060 6GB running poorly! Help!

CyroZentaku

Commendable
Dec 25, 2016
I just recently built my first gaming PC, and have been noticing some nasty framerates while testing it out. In GTA V my frame rate goes from 40-60 (even dropping to the 30s in some areas), on just the default settings (very high), when many benchmarks claim that my GPU should be able to run the game on ultra with a constant of 60fps.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to modern PC gaming, so perhaps there is something I missed or didn't do? I made sure to do a clean install of the GPU's drivers. I can't imagine my CPU would be bottle-necking it, as most sites list it as going far beyond the recommended specs for GTA V. Perhaps it's something on the physical side?

My Specs:
Processor: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz (no overclocking)
Motherboard: ASRock Z97 EXTREME4 ATX LGA1150
Powersupply: SeaSonic Platinum 860W 80+ Platinum
Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2133
Monitor: 1920x1080 60Htz

I've also noticed that shadows in most of the games with good lighting have been looking a little strange; they flicker and look very pixelated. Not all games, but this occurs in Ark, Skyrim/MineCraft with lighting mods,and GTA V (though it seems to look fine during the morning in game in GTA's case).

EDIT:
I've tried running MSI Afterburner and the only thing that looks off to me is that the "power" never goes above 75%. So I'm thinking perhaps there is something wrong with the PSU, or cable supplying enough power. But I'm not sure. My CPU is doing great, however, staying around 30%, so I'm sure it's not bottlenecking.

Solution