Question MSI X470 with Ryzen 5 2600, monitor not working after BIOS update

Sep 12, 2019
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here on the forum, so apologies if I have posted this in the incorrect place. I also know very little about computers so please be kind and forgive me if I sound like an idiot!

So heres the story... My 16 year old son has been working his rear end off earning money to build his own gaming computer, he's now got all of the parts for a modest first attempt (which he is planning on upgrading over the next few years), but we are having serious issues with getting it to work and I'm at my wits end.

The specs are:
MSI X470 motherboard
Ryzen 5 2600 CPU
Cooler master hyper 212 evo CPU cooler
Samsumg SSD
Crucial CT8G4DFS8213 8GB DDR4 ram
Corsair CP-9020098 power supply
Asus Turbo GTX1060-6g graphics card

He put everything together originally, however one of the screw pins on the cooler fan that came with the CPU was bent and so he couldn't fit it. He then ordered the cooler master as a replacement and it went on smoothly. fitted everything and turned it on and..... nothing. Computer started up, fan worked, no output to monitor, CPU error light on and could not turn the computer off with the button. Tried a different monitor, different cables, different sockets on the wall and back of computer and no change.

We then took it to a local computer tech support company where they diagnosed the BIOS needing updating. They used a cheap CPU, and the monitor worked so they could update the BIOS on the motherboard to the latest version and apparently everything worked fine. They sent me a picture of the monitor as the BIOS was updating to show it being done, the details are a little difficult to make out from the photo but it looks like the latest BIOS. Put my sons CPU back in and monitor was not working again. Was advised by the tech support company that it must be a faulty CPU