MSI Z97 PC Mate overclocking help

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChazzerB314

Honorable
Oct 8, 2014
I have a MSI Z97 PC Mate motherboard and an i5 4670K processor. I am very new to over clocking and this is my first build. I watched numerous videos on how to overclock in different BIOS but I can't seem to find any for my specific BIOS which is MSI Click BIOS 4. I tried to go into BIOS and overclock to 3.9 GHz but I couldn't figure it out I switched between simple and advanced mode but all of the different options confused me and I decided just to go back to normal and run a 24 hr stress test because I got my new 212 Evo heatsink.
Well I start running my prime 95 test and notice that realtemp says I'm running at 4.0 GHz. Which was great, but I don't know how that happened because I didn't change any numbers in the BIOS.

So I ran the test and my second core temp maxed at 86C during the first hour and I reset the max and then during the next 7 hours maxes at 83C. While the fourth core maxed at 74C during both recordings. I averaged around 77C for all four temps though for those 8 hours.

My question is what am I supposed to change to run at different MHz? Say 3.9 or 4.2. Also what/why/how to change voltage?

If I understand correctly this is a newer motherboard and I can't find any real explanations on how to use the BIOS.
RvtyNFt.jpg

Solution
Not 4Mhz, it's 4000Mhz, or more appropriately, 4Ghz. Most likely it's running up at that speed because Turbo boost is enabled which allows the cpu multiplier and voltage to be automatically adjusted by the system when it's under load and demand is high. Your temps during Prime are too high, you should not be over the low 70's on core or package temps.