My Annual TH Upgrade Thread :) Need some advise

cryptonx

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2005
Dear TH forum users,

As usual you've been helping me each year with my new system build or graphics card upgrade .

Well I got really busy with Marriage and all and I've skipped a few generations of things :D

so I think I am about ready to Enter again ( I've been gaming as usual but not as hardcore as I was ) .

my Current MATURE System :

AMD Athlon X2 5600+@ 3.0GHZ
MSI K9AGm2 ( AMD 690V Chipset - AM2 socket )
2X1GB Chaintech Apogee DDRII 800
SAPPHIRE ATi Radeon HD4850 1 GB DDR3 ( 625/1200 )
2x 500 GB Seagates 7200 RPM drives ( can't remember the model sorry )

Samsung A450 32" LCD TV ( 720p ) connected thru DVI

--

Ok .. I am playing latest titles like Batman / SF4/ RE5 / Pes 2009 and soon 2010 and all the games I love

Maxxed out @ 1280x720 ( Max TV res. ) and I am very very happy :D

BUT I am an architect and I use my PC for Rendering ( 3Ds Max ) and I leave it hours and hours running to render and Dual Core is getting a bit too old for that ... Heck I tried to render the same scene on a Quad Core PC and it almost finished 60% faster than mine.

as for graphics I know that the new dx11 cards are in but I am not really sure I want to grab on the whole DX11 early now .. I tried that with 9 and 10 and didn't really find it pleasing enough @ the beginning .

And with newer game titles I am thinking that the CPU / MEMORY are starting to bottleneck my card .. since I've seen reviews where my card is considered the 4th or 5th Fastest Graphics cards on the market ( before the new 5xxx series )

and as I am stuck to 720p resolutions I don't really need the extra Fire power.

So basic and brief .. I am thinking of upgrading my CPU and Memory for now .

what would be best ?

A complete new IntelQuad Core Processor / Mobo and Rams ( The high budget upgrade )
A complete new Phenom X3 / Mobo and Rams ( The Medium budget upgrade )