My computer keeps shutting down!

JoeVonWilson

Honorable
Sep 2, 2013
This is starting to worry me, as it is my first time building a PC and I've had it about 4 months now. But after recently buying a sound card, whenever I play a game (primarily DotA 2) it just crashes now and then, and I cannot get it too turn back on. It takes about 10 minutes to want to reboot and I always end up with abandoned games (this is not my concern, however) If you need my specs, they are:

CPU: Intel I3 3220
GPU: Asus HD 7850
MoBo: Asus P8Z77-v lx
PSU: Corsair cx600
RAM: 4gb Corsair Vengeance
HDD: 500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX 5.1

I think this is all you need, but if not, just say.

Please note: I don't think anything is overheating, but the only thing that gets pretty hot after it crashes is the Power Supply. My theory is that because my GPU is just above the PSU, not only is the heat from the PSU being generated, but the heat exhausting from the GPU is also making a difference. I really anticipate your answers, and they are appreciated.

youssef 2010

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2009
As I understand it, the issue began after installing the sound card. If so, then first make sure that the on-board audio processor is disabled. if it is then Try removing the new card and uninstalling the drivers and see what happens

JoeVonWilson

Honorable
Sep 2, 2013

Yes, you're completely correct. I will do this now and get back to you with the results (obviously this will take a few days, as I want to be sure)

leo2kp

Distinguished