gotlinuxed

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2009
Ok not really. But I loaded up Asus PC Probe II today and it gave me quite a scare: my CPU was 109'C (225' F). I'll let the picture do the talking:

pcprobewtf.jpeg

If there was ever any doubt that the bundled Asus software was almost entirely harmful, let this thread remove any doubt.

Let me get this out of the way:
- Yes, I'm a total noob. This is my first overclock.
- Yes, I got one of the crappy high-VID Q6600's. I'm over it.
- Pic is with prime95 on max heat torture test for 6 hrs
- System is q6600, Asus P5Q Pro, 8G OCZ ddr2-800, Xigmatek 1283 with fan replacement, 4xScythe 800rpm silent 120mm fans, Vista 64, OC stable to 3.1Ghz (except that my cpu is maybe on fire).

Just wanted to say thanks to everyone on this forum who has carefully documented that the Asus PC Probe II software, even the lastest version for my Mobo, is total crap. Scared me half to death. Nearly the entire software bundle from Asus is useless and only served to add a bunch of autorun stuff that almost universally results in a Bluescreen.

Motherboard Monitor to the rescue. Still dialing in voltages on the OC. And YES, that 1.44 Vcore is dialed in, and so far is the minimum voltage I have reached stable at - 6 hours so far.

I built this machine almost exclusively from reading this site and spcr. Thanks to all the knowledgeable people who made it possible. :hello:

-gl

assasin32

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2008
Reseat your heatsink, it may be loose. Remember to go corner to corner when installing it with those those annoying pin's, and use new thermal paste (take the old off completely) when you do this.

(just opened pic, after wrote that)