My Dell inspiron 530 will not start. The power button (on front) is lit, and the

isabel_45

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2011
Can anyone help? My dell inspiron 530 will not start. Power light comes on, but nothing on screen and mouse and keyboard are dead. Fans making a lot of noise.

isabel_45

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2011

Wow, thats all looking very complicated. I am a photographer and not a computer technician or builder.
As yours is the only response to my original request for help, I guess I have to give up on this Dell and do what I should have done in the first place and buy a Mac!

isabel_45

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2011

Okay, I have opened the side panel. Is it safe to plug the computer into the mains and turn it on?

isabel_45

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2011

Okay, I have plugged it in and turned it on. The CPU fan is spinning very fast and making quite a lot of noise.

Do you have a separate video card or onboard? The separate looks like the red thing in the first pic, it sits perpendicular to the motherboard and the cable to the monitor is connected to it.
http://www.studynotes.net/Essentials-Computer-Components-7

If you have only onboard video you have your monitor cable connected directly to the motherboard.

Power off and clean all the dust inside (look at the CPU fan/heatsink too). Remove the cable to the monitor and put it back again. Remove the battery on the motherboard for a few seconds and put it back again
http://i.imgur.com/gGMqF.gif

Then try again.

isabel_45

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2011

I don't appear to have a seperate video card, and I can see that the monitor cable plug socket is attached to a large PCB which I assume is what you are calling the motherboard. It is the same PCB that the large fan is attached to.
I cannot see any obvious 'Battery' on this PCB (motherboard). Any idea as to what I should be looking for-shape or colour?

isabel_45

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2011

Okay, found it. Sorry if I appear to be a numptee!!