My i7-8700 CPU is reaching concerning temperatures, is it safe to run at these temperatures for extended periods of time?

Dec 2, 2018
I'm not very tech savvy, but I noticed my new computer (specs below), which has an i7 8700 processor, is running at 70-80 degrees Celsius on all 6 cores when playing games such as Call of Duty: Black Ops 4. The fan is loud (sometimes, not an issue) and the case is hot to the touch, which is why I am concerned. When not running anything other than chrome, the cores have a reading of around 35-40 degrees.

I have read that others have lower temperatures when in games, and I was wondering if this temperature is alright. I have the intention of purchasing more case fans (from the looks of it I have 4, three in the front of the case and one in the back by the processor as well as a CPU fan) and a better cooler.

My question is if it is safe to run the processor at this temperature for extended periods of times, and if there are any optimal coolers and case fans to purchase. In addition, I had read into potential causes for CPU temperatures that reach into the high 80s, 90s and possibly 100, which was poor CPU fan attachment and applying different thermal paste. If my temperatures are abnormal, should I look into doing this?

Thanks.

Specs: This is a Cyberpower PC. Ordered and received ~3 days ago.
Processor: Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz Coffee Lake
RAM: 16.0GB RAM
Motherboard: Micro-Star International BAZOOKA
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (MSI)
It says I have this SSD: 931GB Western Digital WDC

If they've given you the stock Intel heatsink, then those temps are to be expected, the 8700 runs quite hot and the stock cooler isn't really up to the challenge, things get even worse under stress tests and rendering workloads and you typically see thermal throttling with the stock cooler. An aftermarket cooler would definitely help, especially if you want to do anything more intensive than gaming on it.

Dec 2, 2018