[SOLVED] My New PSU's and CPU's Fan Spins After Switching It On

madartzgraphics

Reputable
Jun 29, 2019
I came back from a disastrous generic PSU failure which blew up while I successfully paper clip test it. (Because my PC won't turn on and I was suspecting a bad motherboard and PSU, which turned out to be PSU not the mobo) Bought a new true rated black and braided power supply so i'm very new to this.

Question: Is it normal for my PSU fan and CPU fan to spin after switching it on? My CPU fan isn't like that before or I have connected the wrong front panel switches to wrong place?

Also, my new monitor has static wavy horizontal lines now, unlike before the PSU failed and cause a disastrous corruption on my PC.

Everything's working fine now aside from that static wavy lines and unusual fan behaviour which spins right after I switch on my PSU.

Solution
With the new PSU. Everything is working perfect aside from the occassional shutdown, no boot and static wavy lines on my screen. I'm using it currently to post this reply.
That sounds to me like either a GPU faulting or a poor quality PSU.

Unfortunately you've replaced a bad PSU with another bad one. Bad quality PSUs are renowened for not distributing power correctly. Doesn't matter if you only pull a small amount of power, the PSU still has to distribute it.

Regardless, I would replace your PSU ASAP with a good quality unit.
If the previous PSU was faulty, there still is every possibility that it has damaged other components. I am guessing that you had a reason to test it in the first place?

PC Tailor

Illustrious
Ambassador
Bought a new true rated black and braided power supply so i'm very new to this.
What exact make and model PSU did you buy?

PSU and CPU fan spins are perfectly normal. CPU fan should spin immediately. PSU fan should unless it runs hybris fan control (which only really top end do - mostly Seasonic).