My PC keeps bluescreening when running simple games

Nazri

Honorable
Nov 20, 2013
I've started having this issue when I started playing a new version of a game a year ago, although I've swapped out my 450v for a 700v because it used to just power down instead of bluescreen.

I currently have an AMD fx-4100 CPU, GeForce GTS 450, 4 gigs of RAM and my motherboard is an Asus Sabertooth 990FX. None of it is OC'd and my temps run 35 degrees idle 50 degrees while working for my CPU and 35 for my GPU and I'm working with a Windows 7 64bit clean legit install.

Most of the time the screen just freezes, and the sound just gets stuck in the pitch it was in, and forces itself to restart. When I do get bluescreened I get tells me "a clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor" which I've googled and found it was a CPU problem. Now this CPU is a year old, and I've never changed anything in the settings. How can I solve this. I can post further details of my system if needed.

This ONLY started happening when I installed my old network card, which I've had to use a driver fix for to get it running seeing as Windows started just botching programs that don't have a signature. The card is a Netgear WG311v3, which does have a Win7 Update and should run fine with it, but since Windows made that signature change the system just didn't recognise the network card at all. So I've installed a boot driver to automatically turn off signature verification, and voila I can use my wifi again (and no I don't have hardline otherwise I'd just be using my on-board).

I'm trying to cross of everything off of my list, a Memtest is on one of them but I currently don't have CD's or a flashdrive to put the file on to boot it off of. I'm wondering if it's a CPU or GPU or just maybe a botch driver problem.

EDIT:
I've skulked around the forums a bit to see if I can make a list of action, and I've taken the tip to listen to the sounds my HDD makes.