[SOLVED] My RTX 3070 is a little special

Nov 2, 2020
Hello guys,

I've recently bought and installed my EVGA RTX 3070. Happy to have it, I never fathomed to play Warzone on Ultra with 144fps but back to the topic:

My fans are weird as hell. MSI Afterburner can only control the first 2 fans and Precision X1 (EVGA's program) can only control the third fan. If I try to control the other ones with it they are showing a lower output than fan no. 3 by around 30-50% (MSI Afterburner can't control the third one at all). My PC beeps 3-4 times while booting up maybe it has something to do with it... I'm a novice at best but I'm sure I installed properly.

Why is that? Any suggestions?

Feel free to ask questions :)

Last edited:
Solution
I haven't used Nvidia for a while, does the new Nvidia suite have GPU performance tuning? You could probably try that out, but all fans should be working regardless of the software you are using.

edit: forgot to check out your post code "beeps" from you MOBO. You said 3-4 beeps? Is this what happens when you power on?

"4. "One long and three short beeps" from speaker
An anomaly is detected in the graphic card. If the graphic card needs an extra power supply, please ensure the power supply can provide enough wattage."

How old is your PSU? Are all the cables connected properly?
Nov 2, 2020
we know what GPU you have, but need the rest of your system specs

CPU
Motherboard
PSU

also did you switch from AMD to Nvidia?
are your drivers up to date?
Everything is up to date as far as I am concerned and no I previously had a gtx 960.
My specs are as follows:

ASUS Prime Z270-P
EVGA RTX 3070
Intel i5-7600k
700W Cooler Master PSU
16 (2x8)GB DDR4
2 SSD, 1 M2 SSD
2 1080p screens

Oh and quick addition: These fan shenanigans crashed my PC, the GPU was probably overheating since I didn't know that the fans were not running properly (well, not running at all).