nikolov

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2006
hey,

in the last month i bought no less than four high end air cooler :
- zalman 9500 (was not very satisfied with it 58 full load with 6600 at 3.2 at 1.425v)
- so i bought zalman 9700 (was satisfied 55 degre full load TAT with 12 hours dual prime95 at same o/C CPU than zalman 9500)
but i bought a evga and i dont want risk to break the resistorS behind the mb, im not good at modding things even backplate of the zalman) so i bought - big typhoon vx, i received it today, installing it was not very hard, i then started pc went into bios and saw 27 degre celsius for cpu non o/C of course at 1.28v..but once i installed windows xp my temp went idle at 42 degres TAT, still showing 27 degre under bios tho (/shrug), in fact i think my case sux (amg1080 antec) cause its not very deep, the top of the big typhoon (the fan) is at about 3 cm of the side of thecase, that means all the hot air returns right on the hsf, cause my rear fan is BEHIND the fan of the big typhoon..... i think it causes a very bad airflow, plus i have 2 8800gtx and even with their fan at 100% they get very hot at idle, non o/c they idle at 70 degre... my case gets hot outside.. when i open the case i can feel hot air that i didnt have with my p5b deluxe even o/Ced....
SO finally i ordered a scythe infinity cause the fan will push the air directly in the direction of the rear so that will definitively give a better airflow...

WELL that was my sad story.. A lot of cash wasted for 3 air cooler than i wont use anymore with my evga 680...plus im thinking of buying a aftermark chipset fan , cause mcp idles at 60 degres...

BUT i'd like adding than i just installed windows on my new mb for the first time, installed p23bios, and didnt have any stability issue yet.. i hope it keeps being like that. well thats true i didnt play any game neither yet, not stressed the system yet, just installed windows xp and some system softwares :p