NAS/Fileserver/MediaServer

aviavy

Distinguished
Sep 30, 2008
So I am very new to the DIY Servers. I have dealt with prebuilt NAS solutions before, but I think my needs now are more than what they generally offer in price range I am looking at. So I need some help.

I have a lot of media content 3TB+ worth plus a whole lot of DVDs. I want to have a server that is attached to my network, can stream media to different parts of my house and basically be a backup at the same time (I was thinking a raid 5 config for that one).

I have an old pc that can be used:

Antec P182 case
Intel q9300 quad core LGA 775
4GB Kingston HyperX
Antec TruePower Quattro 850w

Yes I know that config is kind of highend for a server, but it was a former gaming machine, and it's what I have.
Anwyays, I will need a motherboard (preferably with onboard video) as the current one is kind of toast and I was thinking of 4 x 2TB WD Green in a RAID 5 config. While I know RAID isn't considered an actual backup solution it will have to do due to $$$. I was looking into running Free NAS as this seems to be pretty good no $$$ solution. And I also want to keep it headless.

Give me suggestions please! This project is kind of important as I recently almost lost my 2TBs of my 3TBs worth of media, so getting a backup has been raise to the "ludicrously detrimentally important" level.
Assume I'm an idiot and don't know what I'm doing, cause I am an idiot and I don't know what I'm doing! Thanks!

NetworkStorageTips

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2010
First of all, there is no such thing as too high end for a server. A server is more important than any workstation. Not only do you want performance, but above that you want reliability.

If you choose to go this route the most important decision you can make is to get a good RAID controller.