NAS questions and hardware advice?

pcHobby

Reputable
Jun 29, 2017
I am new to NAS and would like some advice for purchasing a system mainly for file sharing or backup.

I am looking for a NAS that is capable of the following;
-Is there a NAS raid that can do 8tb as main storage and have 4tb drive as failsafe? I have seen posts stating there is a raid that can do 3 X 2tb as primary storage and then 1 X 2tb as failsafe if one drive fails. I want to know if it can do it with various drive sizes - or possible if I partition the 8tb to 2 X 4tb and use the 4tb as failsafe?
-Ability to share storage between old and new computers running Windows 7, 8, 9, 10, OSX 10.3 and above and Mac Classic OS9?
-Ability to add hard drives without having to manually transfer files to another drive and back again to the NAS, as I am only starting with 1 or 2 drives and hope to add more when needed.

If there is no NAS that can do all that I have listed, is there one that can do most or apply a work around it?

Is it possible for a NAS with two gigabit ports, for one port connected to the network router and the other port to be connected directly to a computer to access shared files. I would like to use it to increase transfer speed to the NAS of one computer while still have the ability to access the network. Also I would like to use it when I want to connect a laptop direct to the NAS than going through the network or connect a computer directly to the NAS through the ethernet without sharing?

If I am mainly using it for the above, what is the cheapest NAS I could purchase?

I am considering the Synology 918+ and Qnap 453B due to front USB C port for direct access but it seems like alot of money for the purpose I listed?

The Qnap 453B has a front usb c port for accessing the NAS as a drive.
-Does this mean a computer can connect to the NAS as an external drive and also be connected to the network or will this cause conflict?