Need a power supply for a Seagate External Drive STBV4000100

Status
Not open for further replies.

ThreadDotRun

Honorable
Jan 29, 2014
For a Seagate Expansion 4 TB 3.0 USB Desktop External Hard Drive (STBV4000100):

I've looked at the device, the manual, and googled it. I simply cannot find the specs on the power supply (which i just lost when I moved.) its also not on the device near the plug as one would expect... I don't believe that I missed the data in any of these places.

I just want to buy another one, but can't find out which kind I need or which universal one would work because I don't know the expected input voltage and amperage (which I believe I have to match.)

So I'm a programmer, and only so-so with the hardware part... And I need to get my stuff off that expansion drive. Can anyone tell me what type of adapter I need to buy or more specifically what input voltage and amperage I will need?

Thanks!

Solution
Tried putting this phrase in google images ;)

Link

2 minutes of search and conclusion:
12V 2A typical plug available even on universal low volt power supplies.

Go to the nearest PC/Electronic shop with the drive and as soon as the plug is correct size and it provides at least 2A @12V DC you are done.

Ra_V_en

Honorable
Jan 17, 2014
Tried putting this phrase in google images ;)

Link

2 minutes of search and conclusion:
12V 2A typical plug available even on universal low volt power supplies.

Go to the nearest PC/Electronic shop with the drive and as soon as the plug is correct size and it provides at least 2A @12V DC you are done.

Solution

ThreadDotRun

Honorable
Jan 29, 2014
Thanks Ra_V_en,

Thanks for the answer!

Yeah, I tried googling that. Mayhaps my result set is different than yours (https://www.google.com/#q=Seagate+Expansion+4+TB+3.0+USB+power+adapter) - I looked at all links on the first two pages, and only see ads to sell the drive itself or threads about the drive itself.

Edit: