Need advice, upgrading 8600GT SLI, $200 budget

Niner555

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2011
This is my first time posting and I was just hoping for some advice on the best option for upgrading my computer's GPU for some of the newer FPS games coming onto the market (COD3 and MW3):

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Next 30 days

BUDGET RANGE: $200-$250 after Rebates

USAGE: Gaming (Call of Duty 3 and Modern Warfare 3)

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: 2 qty. EVGA 8600GT (SLI), 512MB DDR2, PCI Express x 16. 700 watt power supply (don't know the brand, whatever came with the computer originally)

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3GHz, nVidia nForce 680i LT SLI motherboard. 4GB DDR2, PC6400 RAM

OVERCLOCKING: No

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No, have not been happy with all the driver related issues using SLI

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050

Op. System: Vista 32

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: This computer is an Ultra Grid X20 Intel Gaming Desktop PC and has front and rear cooling fans, as well as a 3rd fan in the side of the case blowing directly on the motherboard.

Thanks for any help offered!
Matt

imsurgical

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2011
GTX 560 Ti is a good card on that budget. If you're very budget conscious though I would even recommend the GTX 560, $189 on Newegg or most authorized E-sellers and the biggest difference is the amount of cores. While one has 384 cores (560 Ti) the other has 336 cores, both are roughly same clock speeds across the board, and both come in the same GDDR5 memory configuration. Real world performance I promise you as far as the cards go is the same especially if go the SLi route.