Question Need advise on which motherboard to choose

ronfiveo

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2011
I'm a newbie in building and I need advise on which motherboard to choose. I'm starting with a AMD Ryzen5 3600 CPU.

Well, actually, I need help with everything.

I would like to use the TV tuner card, WiFi card, CDROM drive, that is coming out of the old machine.
I want to go with a modular CPU, 450W to 550W CPU.
I have a 1T SSD, but might want to upgrade to M.2.
I would like at a minimum of 16GB RAM, but might want to go higher later on.
I am not a gamer, but would want a good video watching card if you guys think that it's needed besides the onboard graphics card that comes with the motherboard.

The CDROM drive depends on the case like if it has a bay that will work with it, but that depends on the case and so far I have not been able to find one that will allow for it's usage.

I need help first of all with the motherboard. Can anyone point me to one that will fit these card components along with the board being some what "future resistant" in case I want to upgrade to M.2, and more RAM with a lot of USB connections? There seems to be more boards than one can shake a stick at in a lifetime.

And what parts would you use to build a good fast PC with out any gaming in mind and mostly for web-surfing, streaming, and videos? I would like your personal preferences to help my decisions.

Thanks for all your help. I really need it to help me make good solid choices.

Ron

Eximo

Titan
Ambassador
I'm a newbie in building and I need advise on which motherboard to choose. I'm starting with a AMD Ryzen5 3600 CPU.

Well, actually, I need help with everything.

I would like to use the TV tuner card, WiFi card, CDROM drive, that is coming out of the old machine.
I want to go with a modular CPU, 450W to 550W CPU.
I have a 1T SSD, but might want to upgrade to M.2.
I would like at a minimum of 16GB RAM, but might want to go higher later on.