[SOLVED] Need Assistance in a System Upgrade

thedoomturtle

Commendable
Jul 8, 2018
I apologize if this is the wrong place to post this but I was just wondering if anyone could provide me assistance on upgrading my system?

I am basically doing a fresh start but I am not replacing the HDD, and that is where most of my confusion comes from.

I was just wondering if you guys had any like steps you could type out for me or something? I am new to this PC building business

Solution
Ok. Kingston currently sells a 240gb 2.5inch sata ssd for $29.99. I use one of these 240gb kingston drives as a games drive and a 120gb hp s700 ssd as a boot drive. The kingston drive is fast and very reasonably priced. Even with a low end and slow (for an ssd) 120gb hp ssd my system boots in about 20 seconds. I never would move back to a mechanical drive for anything other mass storage.
Its not unheard of for an old laptop to boot in like 2-3 minutes with a hdd and with an ssd boot in under 30 seconds.

thedoomturtle

Commendable
Jul 8, 2018
A) what do you plan to do with the new pc?
B) whats you budget?
C) will you buy new or used hardware?
You may want to wipe the old hdd for a 2nd drive and buy a new ssd for quick boot times.

I have already purchased the major parts as I plan to use it for gaming.
  • Replacing an RX 280 with an RX 580
  • Replacing an ASUS P6T SE with a B450M
  • Replacing 8gb Ballistix RAM with G.Series I think

It is off newegg, as far as I know it is new hardware.

ok. Assuming you havent bough a cpu or psu yet i would reccomend a ryzen 5 2600 or 2600x if you dont overclock. I would reccomend a evga SeaSonic 650 watt psu for that build. Make sure the ram you picked is about 3000mhz or more since ryzen needs fast ram to function optimally.

thedoomturtle

Commendable
Jul 8, 2018