DirtyDavinci

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2004
When in doubt, ask the experts I always say. First off, hi, name's Richard and this is my first time on the board, so I wanted to say hello to everyone!

Now, I have an old athlon K7 833Mhz from about six years back. Time to upgrade the puppy, but there are so many different products out there it can be a something of a confusion to get it all down. I currently have one thousand US dollars, and I want to begin to build a system I can upgrade slowly over time. I'm a gamer, and a graphics designer/wannabe medical illustrator, so a system with a good CPU power and capable of handling programs like Illustrator, Photoshop and others is a must. I am thinking of a 1 GB of Ram on an Athlon 64 processor, yet some recommend a P4 system instead. If you had a thousand dollars as a starting base, are a gamer/illustrator, what components would you buy knowing your system will be slowly upgraded with time? I'm talking about everything from CPU, mobo, to sound and video cards. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

I should have specified...the price does not include monitor, speakers, mouse or keyboard. I have that.

Once again, thanks!

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by DirtyDaVinci on 08/20/04 05:04 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

peteroy

Distinguished
BANNED
Jun 14, 2004
Personally, if I had thousand dollars right now to buy a new system I would go with a Intel 915 chipset system that supports DDR2 and PCI Express.

Those are the future techonologies and new video cards will be PCI Express as it is twice as fast as AGP 8X, and DDR2 will replace the DDR1 sticks.

Also, Pentium 4 has hyperthreading that acts like 2 cpu's working together so it is very helpful in my opinion.

Now be advised, most of this forum is filled with AMD fans so use your judgement with who you listen to :)

===========================
<A HREF="http://www.clancas.net" target="_new">clan CHAOS</A>

DonnieDarko

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2004