Need help building a HTPC under 400$

vz7

Distinguished
May 13, 2011
Hi all!

I'm new to this forum. I've read several articles from here before but I've never actually posted. From what I've seen this seems like a terrific place to ask for advice. Here is my situation:

I will be moving in a couple of weeks and am looking to ditch TV subscription all together. I would like build/purchase a HTPC to go with TV and an unlimited internet subscription.

If it helps, here's a bit on my background and experience:
Sadly, I've never ever built a computer before. I would like to build one, however as an undergrad I'm not really in need of a desktop right now. I'm studying electrical engineering so know some basics of processors along with a bunch of programming languages ranging from assembly to c/c++, but I have zero understanding of audio/video encoding. I also don't understand much regarding computer hardware outside of processors and cache design. Unfortunately I don't think I will be academically involved in such topics in the future as I am going into electrical as opposed to computer engineering.

I have looked into some of the typical options, I've considered the following (with comments in brackets):
1. AppleTV w/ XBMC (cheap but no external harddrive)
2. Boxee Box w/ Boxee (shaky development, not very customizable. Also can't at this time utilise its 1080p output because the TV is limited to 720p)
3. Mini's such as Dell's Zino HD or Mac Mini (flexible, but expensive for given spec)
4. Building an actual PC (can be much more flexible, but even more of a financial investment)