tbeck

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2006
Hey!
I am going to college next year and i need a laptop. Im unshure of what is good to get for this but it must meet certain requirements.

Preferably >$1500
DVD±RW DL
<60GB HD
<512 MB DDR2

It also needs to be able to
connect wirelessly
current games
CAD
photoshop

Basically I dont know what processor to go with here and what kind of gaphics card to look for. I understand what i need elsewhere. I dont know what brand to choose.

Any help would be appreciated there are just too many choices!

tyr86

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2005
As a fellow college student, I highly recommend getting a convertable tablet. It is very versatile and makes taking notes very easy. Also writing down graphs is very easy with the stylus. I love taking my tablet to class rather than taking 1 of my 5 paper notebooks.

Most laptops come with more than 60 GB HDs now, and you're going to have to pay a little extra for 1 GB of RAM on some.

Your DVD-RW drive with dual-layer will depend on brand.

Take a look at Toshiba, Fujitsu, and Dell.

I have a Toshiba Satellite tablet, btw.

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006