[SOLVED] Need help choosing new cooler [I’m a absolute rookie]

Jul 8, 2021
Hello all,

Thanks for reading.
Short backstory: my PC is 3,5 years old and it got some heat issues the last couple of weeks (might be longer because I started checking temps just 3 weeks ago). I have no experience with setting up a PC or picking it apart but I somehow managed to put new thermal paste on my CPU. But.. my temperatures only went down from ~95 to ~86ish. Don’t know if this is normal or I maybe did the paste wrong (dot method).

Here comes the question: I want a new cooler but I absolutely don’t know what would fit, work etc. Budget doesn’t play a role as I really just need the thing to get cool and would pay everythi
Setup:
Case - Sharkoon TG5 with one window
CPU - Intel i7-7700K
Cooler - Alpenföhn Brocken Eco
Motherboard - Gigabyte Aorus 270-X Gaming K5
Fans - Thermaltake Riing 12 (3 front, 3 top, 1 behind CPU cooler on the back)

I added some pictures of the setup.
It would be nice if it’s not too hard to setup as I’ve never done it before but if it’s simply not possible to find another CPU cooler with the same screws as the one I have now it’s not a problem.

I hope you guys can help me!
Thanks in advance

Solution
Just because there is a place for a fan, it does not mean that you should install one.
I have a suspicion that if you removed the top fans, or disconnected them, you would do better.
Strong top fans tend to send the front airflow up and out the top before the cool air can go through the cpu cooler.

As to thermal paste, applying too much is not good.
The purpose of paste is to fill in microscopic air pits in the metal mating surfaces.
Paste is a better heat conductor than air, but not nearly so good as metal to metal contact.
A small rice sized drop in the middle will spread out under heat and pressure.
If it overflows the edges, you have used too much.
It is hard to use too little.
All this said, actual difference in paste application...
Jul 8, 2021