Need help deciding on cooling solution: Corsair vs NZXT

Warb_Null

Reputable
Sep 4, 2016
hi all. Just built my first PC in August and now am planning on my next build. I have four parts so far and trying to decide on a cooling solution.

Trying to decide between:
Corsair H110i | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair H115i | NZXT Kraken x61

I am still learning about cooling solutions; my current cooler is an noctua nh-d15. Its a great cooler as most know but the size has always bothered me ever I first installed it. after helping a friend build his PC with a liquid cooler (H100i V2), I fell in love with them and want one for my build.

Now I'm aware that it seems to be the general consensus is that closed loop liquid coolers are not worth the extra one or two decreases in temps, and that they carry minor risk. Regardless, I have my mind set on one.
Can yall help me?

btw my CPU is i7-6850K

Solution
Not even close. The nzxt is far quieter than any of the Corsair's.
There's a large difference between ability and temp, and most don't understand that, they just look at the temp number. Large coolers have greater capacity to dissipate heat, the D15 happens to be the arguable king of air coolers, its got a huge capacity. What that means is as you raise the clock speeds and vcore, it'll soak up that heat better than a smaller cooler will. Up to a certain point at which the cooler starts loosing ability and temps go up faster. Liquid coolers have a much larger area for heat dissipation, so when air coolers start closing in on minimum efficiency, liquid are still going strong. Even a D15 can't touch the ability of the 280mm rads at...

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
Not even close. The nzxt is far quieter than any of the Corsair's.