Need help figuring out why my wireless network is intermittently freezing/dropping.

jthornton

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2013
First let me say that I'm not very good with networking, it's never been an area of expertise for me. Here is my setup:

- 250Mbps Internet Connection > Rogers Modem
- Rogers Modem > Linksys EA9200-4C
- Port 1 > D-Link Powerline DHP-701AV
- Port 2, 3, 4 > Connected to devices, computer, voip apa and printer

On the network I have:
- Desktop computer (running as a HT server using samba shares into Kodi clients) - Hardwired
- Printer - hardwired
- voip apa - hard wired
- TV (Sony Android) - Powerline AV2000
- Desktop computer - Powerline AV2000
- 4 Phones + 1 tablet (wireless)
- Laptop (wireless)
- 2 other laptops (not usually on but rarely)

I just recently upgrade my powerline adapters because I thought those were giving me the problems. Prior to these Powerline adapters, I had D-Link with (i think) AV500 or AV200 tech in them or something like that.

Here is the issue:
This seems to be happening when my kids are home. When I'm watching TV (streaming from my HTPC) my show will all of a sudden freeze. Sometimes I can fix it by going back and 10 seconds a few times. Sometimes it freezes right up and I have to exit and the odd time I end up having to reboot the TV to be able to do anything again. At the same time, all of my wireless connections go down. My laptop browser will not even load a page like Google or anything. Sometimes I wait 30 seconds and it goes up and running again. Other times, I have to shutdown my laptop and I can still continue to watch TV with it freezing every 5-10 minutes. the odd time it doesn't fix itself and I just end up giving up on it.