Need Help Finding Freeze Problems

Wazooh

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2005
Hey, this is my first time on here, though I've lurked for a bit. I've recently put together a new machine, but for some reason it freezes up randomly. No error message or anything.
Here are my specs.

AMD Athlon 64 4000+ 2.41ghz
1 GB ram
Nvidia Geforce 6800 ultra
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
MSI K8N Neo2 mobo

If any other information helps, I'll be glad to give it. Thanks in advance.

pat

Expert
Apart for the MSI motherboard, maybe your PSU is not powerful enough. What do you have for PSU?

-Always put the blame on you first, then on the hardware !!!

Wazooh

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2005
It's a 450 OCz Modstream. I don't know what's wrong... my brother built another machine with virtually the same parts (he has 3500+ instead of my 4000+) and he runs fine w/o any problems. It's probably something that I've done wrong... but I don't know what that is.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Wazooh on 03/05/05 11:39 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

DCB_AU

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2002
This could be the result of incorrect/badly instaled drivers, background programs, registry errors, critical windows programs, etc.

Start with the drivers first/reinstal. Especially those "FORCEWARE" drivers. I've have had heaps of problems with them in the past.

What OS do you have?

I used to have freezing problems all the time with :-(WinME "one of the worst OS".

However it runs great now since I closed unneeded background processes such as PC Health, System Restore and others.

<font color=red>DCB</font color=red><font color=white>_</font color=white><font color=blue>AU</font color=blue>

Wazooh

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2005
Windows XP. I've installed all my drivers, but when I try to reinstall some, it freezes. It's really weird- if I just browse the internet, it's fine and no problems. Same with listening to music. However, whenever I try to perform something like playing HL2 or reinstalling software, it freezes.