Question Need help identifying my current air cooler model

Nov 18, 2022
hello, all. i own a pre-built Inspiron 5675 with a Ryzen 7 1700x. i'm trying to replace the current generic motherboard with a B550M and upgrade the CPU to a Ryzen 7 5700x. i already purchased both components and wish to bring the PC for a technician to install them since i'm not tech savvy enough to handle this operation by myself.

however, firstly i would like to know if my current air cooler is enough to safely handle the new CPU or if i have to buy a new one (and if that's the case, what are the specifications for an adequate cooler. i'm on a short budget after having invested in the new hardware). sadly, i can't make out the model of the cooler inside my rig, and i also can't seem to find any useful information in the documents related to the Inspiron i own. i snapped a couple of pictures of the cooler in case they are of any help to someone with possible insight on the matter. one of them seems to have a readable serial number, but looking it up hasn't led me anywhere.

any help is appreciated.

Image 1: IMG-20230302-204116 hosted at ImgBB — ImgBB (ibb.co)
Image 2: IMG-20230302-204008 hosted at ImgBB — ImgBB (ibb.co)

Aeacus

Titan
Ambassador
What you have, is generic CPU cooler provided by Dell.

Ebay listing with more pics and serial numbers,
link: https://www.ebay.com/itm/225276699653

Your CPU cooler is most likely outsourced by Dell to someone and i don't think it is even on sale as standalone unit. And without that, there won't be any specs of the cooler itself (e.g cooling capacity).

Still, R7 1700X is 95W CPU while R7 5700X is 65W CPU. So, you should be safe and your old CPU cooler should be sufficient enough to cool your new CPU.

Nov 18, 2022
Still, R7 1700X is 95W CPU while R7 5700X is 65W CPU. So, you should be safe and your old CPU cooler should be sufficient enough to cool your new CPU.