Question Need help knowing what m.2 my motherboard can support

Oct 23, 2020
57
0
30
0
I'm planning to buy an m.2 for my motherboard after learning that it can load the PC faster. But there are different m.2 slots and I'm confused whether my motherboard will support the latest one which is nvme or not.

This is the motherboard that I have

SuperMicro C7H270-CG-ML
 
Oct 23, 2020
57
0
30
0
M.2 Interface: PCIe 3.0 x4
M.2 Form Factor: 2280

https://www.supermicro.com/en/products/motherboard/C7H270-CG-ML

only supports PCIe version 3 so don't buy a PCIe 4 one as it won't run at full speed. It will work, but only at a reduced speed.
Doesn't appear to support sata m.2, only NVME (which is fine as sata is slower)
So how to tell if the SSD is PCIe version 3 and not 4? is it compatible for something like this?

https://www.amazon.in/Samsung-Internal-Solid-State-MZ-V8V1T0/dp/B08THW4S3T/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=internal+ssd+m.2+pcie+3&qid=1616915018&sr=8-2&th=1

some others mention 3.0 x 4. Should those be avoided and just mention only 3.0?
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Samsung 980 = yes, that would work. It is PCIe 3.0, it says it is in its description. Others you might have to do a little digging to figure that out.

some others mention 3.0 x 4. Should those be avoided and just mention only 3.0?
When you see 3.0 x4 its referring to 2 different things,
3.0 = PCIe version
x4 = how many PCIe lanes it uses. (its sort of redundant)

so PCIe 3.0 x4 and PCIe 3.0 are the same things
 
Oct 23, 2020
57
0
30
0
Samsung 980 = yes, that would work. It is PCIe 3.0, it says it is in its description. Others you might have to do a little digging to figure that out.



When you see 3.0 x4 its referring to 2 different things,
3.0 = PCIe version
x4 = how many PCIe lanes it uses. (its sort of redundant)

so PCIe 3.0 x4 and PCIe 3.0 are the same things
Thank you for the clarification!
 
Oct 23, 2020
57
0
30
0
Samsung 980 = yes, that would work. It is PCIe 3.0, it says it is in its description. Others you might have to do a little digging to figure that out.



When you see 3.0 x4 its referring to 2 different things,
3.0 = PCIe version
x4 = how many PCIe lanes it uses. (its sort of redundant)

so PCIe 3.0 x4 and PCIe 3.0 are the same things
Oh and sorry but I just have one more question. Can I use more than one m.2 drive? If not, then is the process of replacing the m.2 with the more storable one doable without losing data?
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
it appears you only have 1 M.2 slot

without using a PCI card and mounting the 2nd NVME to it so you can clone the 1st onto it, I don't know how you could directly copy onto the new NVME. You might find you need a hdd or ssd or USB stick (since you can get fairly large ones now, I have a 256gb one) to copy info onto and then just clean install onto new drive.
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
140,009
7,613
173,940
21,491
Samsung 980 = yes, that would work. It is PCIe 3.0, it says it is in its description. Others you might have to do a little digging to figure that out.



When you see 3.0 x4 its referring to 2 different things,
3.0 = PCIe version
x4 = how many PCIe lanes it uses. (its sort of redundant)

so PCIe 3.0 x4 and PCIe 3.0 are the same things
The 980 Pro is a PCIe 4.0.

It will still work in the PCIe 3.0 port (backwards/forwards compatible)


There is a recently introduced 980, which is PCIe 3.0. As seen in the Amazon link above.
https://www.theverge.com/2021/3/9/22307402/samsung-980-nvme-ssd-dram-pcie-3-speed-price
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Well, he has a link to the non Pro so I assume I am still right?

I can already see the questions: Why isn't my 980 not running at 4.0....
Answer: Because its not the Pro

many people will get stung by that one
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
140,009
7,613
173,940
21,491
Well, he has a link to the non Pro so I assume I am still right?
Yes.
But that is a major fail on Samsung.

The 8xx series was SATA III
The 9XX series is PCIe 3.0. 960-970 EVO and Pro.

Now, we have 3.0 and 4.0, with the same "number" of 980.
I expect we'll see more confusion on this.

Should have called it the 975 EVO, maybe.
Or label the 4.0 a "1XX".
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
@Zerk2012 he already appears to have nvme, he is just after more space

If not, then is the process of replacing the m.2 with the more storable one doable without losing data?
So he won't get much of a speed advantage, it really depends on what model he has now as it could still be faster. I assume the 980 isn't slow.

Not sure I like fact new drive has no dram - https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-980-m2-nvme-ssd-review
But that doesn't seem to hold it back - https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2021/03/new-samsung-980-ssd-improves-on-970-evo-evo-plus-performance/

Naming is dumb
 
Oct 23, 2020
57
0
30
0
I apologize for responding now but I was told that Western Digital WD SN550 1TB is a good M.2 according to Tom's hardware review.

But will it work for my motherboard? I just want to be certain as I think I can go with this one.

https://www.amazon.in/dp/B07YFFX5MD/?coliid=I3PQVZ3P4G7BXD&colid=3KL6H4O7KPQX0&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

Don't expect a lot of difference over a regular SATA SSD.

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3AMz-xZ2VM
Well getting a Sata SSD to PSU and all that connection relies on extra costs where as with M.2, I don't need any spare parts so its slightly cheaper..I think?

That being said...is there any price difference between SSD and M.2?
 
Oct 23, 2020
57
0
30
0
You should already have everything you need
I mean the PSU does come with one SATA cable...but I need the adapter which I don't have.

I apologize for responding now but I was told that Western Digital WD SN550 1TB is a good M.2 according to Tom's hardware review.

But will it work for my motherboard? I just want to be certain as I think I can go with this one.

https://www.amazon.in/dp/B07YFFX5MD/?coliid=I3PQVZ3P4G7BXD&colid=3KL6H4O7KPQX0&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it
Will this M.2 work for the motherboard?
 

johnsoner13

Notable
Nov 24, 2019
499
92
890
32
The adapter needed to connect the SSD to the PC case? Also, seeing as I was told that the motherboard won't support sata, I guess I have to get M.2
Why would you connect your ssd to the case? Do you mean mount? Any standard case should have mounts already. And not supporting sata m.2 doesnt mean it doesnt support sata at all.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY