Need help overclocking. [5820k]

Nate_38

Prominent
Jun 21, 2017
So, i do a lot of 3D rendering which is why i have 5820k CPU and would like a decent and stable overclock to help reduce my render times.

I am a complete noob at overclocking and have never done it before so i really don't know what i'm doing at all. Iv'e tried guides and just can't seem to follow them properly so i was hoping for some help here.

My Spec:
i7 5820K
Asus X99 Strix Motherboard
16GB Corsair vengeance 3000Mhz Ram
Corsair H100i V2 cooler
Corsair RM750 PSU

I would like about 4.3 maximum as I don't really want my system too hot as I can be rendering for between 1 to even 6 hours (CPU at 100% during the entirety)

Any help would be appreciated.

Solution
Ok so first foray into overclocking eh? Well I would firstly advise keeping the CPU temperature around 75°C and the maximum I'd consider a safe 24/7 Of is 80C.
HW monitor is fantastic for monitoring this.

Naturally this temperature increases as you pump more voltage into the package (you can adjust this in the BIOS as Vcore) this is a requirement for getting a higher frequency.
For the core clock itself there should be a multiplier modifier to it, this multiplier 9 times out of 10 is in GHz (I.e 4.0= 4.0ghz, 4.1=4.1 GHz etc) but there can be some variation depending on the Mobo.
For you, and if you have a decent cooler. I would try 1.3v on the Vcore and go for 4.5ghz, I wouldn't advise increasing the voltage past 1.35v.
Also I...

Mikeandike

Reputable
Dec 1, 2014
Ok so first foray into overclocking eh? Well I would firstly advise keeping the CPU temperature around 75°C and the maximum I'd consider a safe 24/7 Of is 80C.
HW monitor is fantastic for monitoring this.

Naturally this temperature increases as you pump more voltage into the package (you can adjust this in the BIOS as Vcore) this is a requirement for getting a higher frequency.