Question Need help ruling out PCI-e slot or GPU itself

lorenzov

Honorable
Oct 7, 2016
As the title suggests -and I know this has been asked before- I am having a problem figuring out if it's a bad PCI-e slot or a bad GPU. I have a MSI Armor RX570 4gb, AMD; and I have been using it normally for the past two years (bought it early 2020). I bought it with one year of usage, but owner said they applied fresh thermal paste, had it cleaned properly, etc., and I never had any problems with it. Everything ran well, all the games I wanted to play, I could; but two months ago, after some weeks that I replaced my old i5-4670T with a i7-4790K, it suddenly started to artifact. Very much so, that it happened very shortly after I turned on my PC, and after the artifacts, the screen just turned into a solid color (often gray, but sometimes brown) and I could hear the glitched audio behind, and turning off my PC by holding the power button was the only option. The card was in a 16x slot, so I moved it to the other 16x slot, but this one powered in 4x (since my card had 4 VRAM, I figured it wouldn't be much of a problem whilst I didn't get a new MB) and it worked flawlessly. I figured this would be because I removed my GPU several times to apply new thermal paste to the new CPU, since it was my first time and I was attempting to get the best thermal paste applied to keep it as cool as it could get. Anyway, I could run everything again (with some games that ran better before, now with some performance issues due to obvious reasons); until today.