Need Help with Building a Lower-end Budget Gaming PC that can run Skyrim (First Build)

Cythas

Reputable
Oct 23, 2014
I've never built a PC before, and despite spending many hours trying to wrap my head around the many well-written but ultimately too complex for a complete newb guides, I am going to need help with figuring this out. Anyways, here's that template:

Approximate Purchase Date: whenever I get this all sorted out, hopefully within a week or two

Budget Range: $600-$800

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, video streaming, web surfing, sparse bit of game design, desktop publishing

Are you buying a monitor: No

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: amazon.com

Location: Wisconsin, USA... the closest larger town is Appleton, though I would much prefer to purchase online.

Parts Preferences: none, as long as they work and don't have a reputation for breaking or being highly annoying in some way

Overclocking: highly doubtful

SLI or Crossfire: I think this means if I mean to use more than one graphics card; I only mean to use one.

Your Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050, though I hope to upgrade to 1920x1080 (1080p) soon.

Now that that's out of the way, the most intensive game I intend to play is Skyrim. I hoped to play it in 1080p (eventually, at least), on ultra settings at 60fps with HD (2k/4k, if possible) texture pack/ ENB mods. I managed to find some other people with the same goal on this site, and from responses to them, I gathered that the following hardware might be good:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4430 3.0GHz Quad-Core Processor, which can be gotten for ~$182 on amazon here.
Video Card: AMD Radeon R9 280, which can be gotten for ~$193 on amazon here.

I chose that CPU since it was the most common response for a CPU in the google results I received. The graphics card I chose because many people have stated that Skyrim is very VRAM-hungry, and can use up to 3GB of it, which is what that video card has, I think.