need help with hp envy 700-230qe graphics card choice

helpnewatthis

Reputable
Apr 29, 2014
I have a hp envy 700-230qe, I want to install a graphics card but am unsure of what to get, I am new to this as this is my first desktop, can someone assist me in the options and choice of what would work best for me.

Operating system - Windows 8.1 64
Processor - 4th generation Intel® Core™ i7-4770 processor quad-core[3.4GHz,8MB Shared Cache]
Memory - 12GB DDR3-1600MHz [2 DIMM ]
Hard drive - 2TB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive
Graphics card - Intel HD Graphics [DVI-I, DVI-D]
Optical drive - SuperMulti DVD Burner

I have two monitors currently and a third will arrive tomorrow but will not be able to turn on with a way to connect. Very confused to which graphics card i should buy, hp told me today that my tower would only accept a slim form factor, my motherboard is a msi and I have aboutenough space for a five inch plus wide card.

Thank you kindly

s4in7

Honorable
Feb 14, 2014
Well according to HP's product page for that computer, the highest video card upgrade they have listed is the Radeon 270. They don't list what the power supply in your machine is, but if they list the 270 as an upgrade option then it'll surely work in your computer.

You could try to go higher, but it may not work because your power supply might be too small.

The 270 is a fantastic card for 1080p though--it'll play every game on High to Ultra settings at 30-60fps and it's very easy to overclock to the level of a 270X so it's a great buy!

s4in7

Honorable
Feb 14, 2014
This is what you need to be measuring:
hbtJKKF.jpg

That'll determine how much room you have for an upgrade.

helpnewatthis

Reputable
Apr 29, 2014