Need help with new pc's display ports/monitors display adapter

DhruvTheImpostrous

Reputable
Oct 3, 2014
Hi,

I recently built my own pc (Thanks to the people here for helping me to choose the parts) however I came upon a problem I didn't really anticipate. Here: http://imgur.com/mEBO1Re,zk9HFMf#1 is the link to the pictures I will be talking about, because my laptop i'm using atm won't display the images in preview mode and I don't want to risk it. Anyways, my gpu is the GTX 970 from Gigabyte (G1 Gaming) and my monitor is a Samsung LED monitor (Bought it last year for a PC I ended up not making). So I was just wondering if there was anything I could do to make it work because I'm not very good at this field :p. If I have to buy anything please let it be $10>. Sorry if my question is "dumb" :p and Thanks.

Solution
You should just need a DVI to VGA adapter. Are you sure one didn't come in the box for your 970. You can order one from Newegg or Amazon for about $5 though it doesn't include shipping.

DhruvTheImpostrous

Reputable
Oct 3, 2014

I guess, sorry I said I'm not very good at this :/ I assume that would be the problem, but idk how to fix it.

DhruvTheImpostrous

Reputable
Oct 3, 2014

I don't think one came with my 970, I am looking through the box and I find nothing but some molex connectors left. Maybe I misplaced it but IDK, is there a specific one I should get? Looking at http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-DVI-Cable-Adapter-DVIVGAMF/dp/B000067SOH/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top but i'm not sure if it's the correct one.