Need some help evaluating this newly acquired custom computer

dantheman1001

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2009
My friend just built a brand new computer and gave me his old one (yeah he's rich), and I was wondering if I might be able to get some help in upgrading it to today's standards. It's only about a year and a half old, so it should run games okay, but I want to be able to play Supreme Commander at 1650 x 1080 with above average graphics, PLUS be able to do the same with Empire Total War when that comes out. Here's what's in the box as of now:

EVGA 122-CK-NF66-T1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i Ultra ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz

Geforce 8800 GTS (the old one with 320 MB DDR3)

Antec Sonata II case (with 450W Antec PSU)

2 x 1GB Patriot DDR2 800

ZALMAN CNPS9700

WD 7200RPM 250GB HDD

Sony DVD-RW drive

currently running windows XP

I'm kind of new at the whole computer-building/modding thing, so I need help figuring out what needs upgrading. What would you all suggest first? (remember *I* have a limited budget lol)

ausch30

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2007
One thing I would consider is increasing the RAM, especially if you're planning on changing the OS to Vista or Windows 7 when it's released, plus Supreme Commander uses a lot of memory.

You might want to upgrade the video card. Although the 8800GTS 320 is still a capable card, there are many available now which consume less power, create less heat, create less noise, are faster, and are fairly inexpensive. It really depends on your budget.

You have a good CPU which you can overclock to get a little more performance out of and you already have a good CPU cooler.

antiacid

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2008
the 650i isn't the greatest motherboard to begin with. It should normally support newer cpus so you could look into getting a faster one for not too much (like an e8400).

For video cards, you could look into getting an h4870 1gig or a gtx260+.