[SOLVED] Need to replace a power button on an 8 year old Antec 302 case. Please advise/help

splunge

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2006
I have a Antec 302 case on my custom PC I bought from AVA Direct about 8 years ago. I've been very pleased with the case but a few years back, the power button stopped working. I've gotten by with using the restart button but am looking to fix the broken power button as I have to restart if it slips into hibernation mode and is getting on my nerves.

I'm an advanced beginner with computer repairs- I've changed out memory and have switched out a dead hard drive and can follow directions adequately.

I found instructions on the Antec website to remove the power/restart buttons but don't know how to replace it. Are they case specific or is it "one size fits all"? My case is rather old and doesn't look like the current 302's on the Antec site. I'm not sure if the directions on the site apply.

I've requested support from AVA and Antec but have never gotten bad advice on the Tom;s forums.

Any advice would be welcome. Thanks in advance

Solution
The power button on many of those old cases wasn't momentary, I've had a few that were actual on/off switches. The one on my old Dell I took apart after it failed, and all it required was a little bearing grease where the spring armature was stuck and not clicking over for the return path.

Since you've looked into removal, and the switch seems bunk, shouldn't be any harm in taking a peek at the actual switch, if it is momentary and soldered to a pcb, you might be able to just rob an old mouse or similar for its momentary switches and resolder that in its place. Or might be possible to find an adequate replacement online from an electronics store or places like Amazon.

Co BIY

Splendid
Should be a simple process. Worst case drilling a hole in plastic.