Need to run server - Media Center upgrade to Pro

artbytes

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2006
Since I am a Web developer, I need to run a server on my computer for testing Web applications. I've been using IIS on my XP Pro OS.

I need to purchase a new computer. Most of the systems I am interested in only come with Media Center 2005 OS. I have the upgrade disk (SP2) that will upgrade XP Home to XP Pro. However, I don't know if this will upgrade XP Media Center 2005 - or if Media Center 2005 will run a server - so maybe doesn't even need upgrading.

We also run a little work group for file and printer sharing. I don't know if Meida Center 2005 will work with that.

Thanks for your help.

artbytes

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2006
Thanks so much. Information about IIS is very hard to come by. They never mention that on the descriptions of Media Center Edition.

I take it that you can join a workgroup. We don't need the domain - just the workgroup for file sharing.

exit2dos

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2006
Thanks so much. Information about IIS is very hard to come by. They never mention that on the descriptions of Media Center Edition.

I take it that you can join a workgroup. We don't need the domain - just the workgroup for file sharing.

Yes, workgroups and file sharing work the same as Pro.

I assume you know this, but I'll post this link for others reading this thread who wonder what IIS is, or how to use/install it:
http://www.mvps.org/marksxp/WindowsXP/IIS/iishome.php

BTW, MCE is a little more picky on its hardware requirements than Pro. Granted if you buy a new system, it will have met the specs, but for others reading - The minimum graphics card it needs is:
9600 - ATI (Old)
X300 - ATI (New)
5200 - Nvidia
I don't know if it will even install if your using a generic Integrated Graphics Processor (IGP) on the motherboard.

artbytes

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2006