Need Video Editing Laptop for Travel - advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

etheriumsky

Prominent
Mar 19, 2017
Hi there,
I'm a professional filmmaker always working on the go and needing to upgrade my equipment. In the past 5yrs i've used my HP Workstation (Elitebook 8560w i7 2.30Ghz 8GB RAM w/ Nvidia Quadro 2000M) - it's served me very well, though it's gotten so slow & laggy nowadays that it can barely handle a basic video edit any longer.

So i'm looking for a new machine but can't find the option that fits all my checkboxes:

* I primarily need to be able to run Adobe Premiere and Photoshop smoothly. My heaviest projects I will move to a stronger workstation but I MUST be able to smoothly edit 3~5 minute videos with basic color correction (MB Colorista/Looks) + some titles and occasionally some simple After Effects.
* I don't do much gaming, though really like to play Civ 5/6 from time to time - would be fantastic if my set up was good enough to support it.
* I travel ALL the time. I need something *lightweight* and durable. Cheap flimsy plastic won't do. My current machine is so heavy it maxes out my luggage allowance on every flight...
* I don't like Mac/Apple products - def. want a Windows laptop.
* I mostly work off of external hard drives, so internal drive space is not of major concern - as long as I have enough USB outlets to hook up my drives!
* I'd love an HDMI outlet or some other/good alternative.
* Budget is not of key concern - i'm willing to spend more money on a machine that would last me for good few years and save me time and frustrations of laggy video edits taking days instead of hours. That said i also don't want to blow cash on pointless gimmicks.
* This will be my primary machine for the next few months although down the road i plan to invest into a proper high-end desktop.

Few Machines I've been considering: