[SOLVED] *NEEDS ADVICE* : New 10Gbe NAS Setup for small Motion Design Studio

nicholesther

Commendable
Oct 13, 2016
Hello Folks,

I'm from Malaysia, and just a heads up that I am a total newb. Please be nice and patient with me :D Seeking for advice from experts as I recently bought and set up a 10gbe NAS for the studio. There are 4 workstation that works on it. But after the setup of this NAS, we noticed that the transfer speed is only running around 100+ mbps. We expect a 10Gbe setup to transfer files way faster. The guy that sold me these items told me that it's either our pc that is causing the slow speed or that it's because we have alot of small files in our folders. Bigger files should transfer faster, therefore he can't do anything about it and it's completely normal.

I doubt his expertise as he wasn't responsible for the setup. And was in a hurry, leaving us with alot of questions unsolved.

I saw on the net that we will need a 10g router for a 10g setup. But there are some that says that does not matter, because 10g router only works if our ISP is up to that speed.

In the end he suggested me to get 2 Seagate Nytro SSD as cache hard drives, and it will transfer my files way faster.

Pros and Experts, do share me your advice or suggestion before having to spend on the additional hard drives or a new router. Below is the list of items for the NAS setup.

NAS : Synology DS1618+
RAM : Synology DDR4 16GB
PCIE : Synology E10G17 - F2
Fibre Module : Trendnet TEG-10GBSR x2
SWITCH : Trendnet TEG-40128 12Ports
PCIE (PC) : Trendnet TEG-10GECTX x4
HDD : Seagate EXOS 7E8 6TB x2
CAT 7 : Ugreen Cat 7 Cables x 4
ROUTER : TP-LINK Archer C1200

ISP :
Download : 100.22mbps
Upload : 98.58mbps
Ping : 4ms

I appreciate all of you who spent your time reading this. Thanks in advance!

Solution
How are you measuring the speeds. Copy a large files and watch the network tab on the resource monitor.