Question Netgear M1/MR1100 ATT UNLOCKED 4G Dual Band 2.4/5Ghz wireless router wanting to implement Wi-Fi 6. Is it possible or do I need to pitch everything?

Feb 20, 2024
I would like to move up to Wi-Fi 6, but due to my current location (in the middle of rural America), no network infrastructure is available. Cellular is my only option so that is what I have been using for the last 2 years. Now that Wi-Fi 6 is fully standardized and Wi-Fi 7 just around the corner, its time to find a strategic path for an upgrade. Something that won't force me to empty my piggy bank or beg for change while cleaning their windshield.
My cell signal strength is poor but I have a MIMO antenna solution just about figured out. It includes doing a mod on the NETGEAR Nighthawk M1/MR1100's two internal antennas for the lower bands and giving them a connection to external MIMO antennas. The lower bands are where a majority of your send/receive cellular data is handled. But this still doesn't get me to Wi-Fi 6! So if anyone has gone before me with this type of network implementation, please share your experience with me. I am open to all advice and if this is a waste of my time and resources, please tell me!
Ubernet

Last edited:

kanewolf

Titan
I would like to move up to Wi-Fi 6, but due to my current location (in the middle of rural America), no network infrastructure is available. Cellular is my only option so that is what I have been using for the last 2 years. Now that Wi-Fi 6 is fully standardized and Wi-Fi 7 just around the corner, its time to find a strategic path for an upgrade. Something that won't force me to empty my piggy bank or beg for change while cleaning their windshield.