Xanatos

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2001
I'm a student and need some help and advice from experienced people. I gotta network two computers for a business. I wanna do it like this: They are installing cable modem and want both computers to have access thro the modem for speed. For this I was wanting to use router, have the cable attach to the modem, then use CAT 5 cable to the router, then go to the two computers from the router. Is this possible or do you need a hub? Or do you need something entirely different and am I off base?

Yahiko81

Illustrious
Jul 17, 2001
Are you talking about an internet router like a linksys or a netgear? What you can do is get a netgear internet router and hook both systems up to that. Let me try to explain this. Install a network card in both computers. Make sure the drivers are installed and that you have tcp/ip installed. Plug your cable modem into your internet router and then connect the router to the network cards using cat5 cabling. With netgear the router works as a DHCP server. You might have to configure it a little bit but it's easy. Just open up internet explorer go to tools, internet options, click on connection, click on lan settings, make sure you check automatically detect proxy server. Then close that. in the address bar type in 192.168.90.1 then the username admin and password 1234 then configure your internet settings. Then wallah you are on. You only need to configure the router with one pc, but you need to setup the connection type on both. I hope this isn't to confusing. I just made this off the top of my head. Oh and all this is if you are using a netgear internet router.

Nice <b><font color=green>Lizards</b></font color=green> <b>crunch</b> Trolls cookies....... :smile: Yummy!! :smile:

Xanatos

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2001
Hey, thanks. This is basically what I was thinking about, loosely in my head. But just learning this in my head.