New 1080 ti performing poorly

May 1, 2018
I just bought an MSI 1080 ti 11gb aero OC and it is performing no where near what I excepted. When playing the witcher 3 I am only getting around 30 to 40 fps. I also noticed my gpu usage is usually only around 40 to 50% while my cpu usage is always less than 30%. I have a 750w power supply so I don't think that's the issue I have also double checked to make sure all cables are properly plugged in. I have the newest drivers and I re formatted my drives before installing them so I know its not a conflict with drivers.

I am currently running a MSI 1080ti 11gb aero OC with a i5-7640X with 16gb 3000 ram on a X299 Raider mother board. I am fairly new to PC building so I could easily be missing something that could be very oblivious. I would appreciate any help thanks!

Solution
Hmm the bios switch on your board, around the bottom right corner, see if trying the other bios rom helps at all

Try clear cmos as well if you haven't done so it might help.
its possible that you are running the wrong cable into the wrong input on your monitor. I know that some monitors only support 30hz on hdmi for example in a certain input. what monitor and resolution are you trying run at and at what refresh rate? It's possible like you said that you are missing something obvious? you don't have a fps cap somewhere do you?

May 1, 2018
My monitor is a acer H236HL 60hz monitor It only has one input for hdmi. I'm running at 1920x1080. I dont have an fps cap on although I have tried setting one at 60fps to see if it did anything with no change.

boju

Titan
Ambassador
Try the second newest driver. I had an issue with my 1080ti using 397.31 driver acting up but that was after playing a game where browsing or dragging a window in circles was very sluggish until i reboot. Fps was fine though.

Im on Win7 so can't say if Win10 is affected in someway but try 391.35.