New 2600K Build - Need Spec Recommendations

flong

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2010
Hello computer experts :). Well I'm building my first computer - whew can you see the nervous sweat falling off my forehead. I have some motherboard and memory questions. Keep in mind that though I am a degreed civil engineer, I am not a computer expert - so forgive my lack of tech savy. And yes I did read the section on memory before posting.

1) I have decided to go with the ASUS p867 deluxe mobo..... but, is there any advantage to going with the revolution which has N200 support if I do not plan to go cross-fire or sli? Does it speed up other operations by supplying more bandwidth channels. Is the Asus ws revolution which includes the N200 bridge worth paying $40 more than the deluxe board. I plan to run only one card. I am not a huge gamer but I do CAD work.

2) I plan to overclock but the memory tests/reviews I have read show very little difference between different memory manufacturers. So is ddr 1600 a good cost choice - the sweet-spot so to speak?

3) What is the most reliable memory manufacturer.... Corsair, Gskill, ripjaws, etc.? Speed doesn't seem to vary much. Who do you experts trust most?

4) I am thinking of going with 8G of memory - 2 2x 4G. Any suggestions? Is there a better configuration?

5) Does the N200 bridge only support nVidia cards? I hope that isn't a dumb question but it is difficult to understand some of the threads.

flong

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2010
Thank you malmental. I had the ATI 5850 and it was a great card, however, I now have the ATI 5450 and it is a terrible card. I am seriously looking at nvidia, however the 6950 is getting very good reviews and is over $50 cheaper than the 570 which is a better card.

I was guessing from reading the forums that 8G, 1600 MHZ was the sweet spot and it is all that I need.