New 8800GT, which chip set/motherboard advise.

Flingpoo

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2007
First, just want to say hello! First time poster, long time lurker.

Okay, Just when I was ready to purchase the components for a new build based on the P35 with a 8800GTX, the announcement of the new 8800GT slams on the brakes. This is my first build in a few year. I played the waiting game for the X38 motherboards (which I passed on) so why not for the new 8800GT. What's another week, right?

I know there is very little info on this card yet, but I'm just wondering what you guys would do in my shoes. Based on a budget of a typical P35/8800GTX/2gig DDR2, 800 set up. I like to game with all the eye candy on and would like to squeeze the best out of my Samsung 226BW.

What would you pair up with a new 8800GT (or possibly wait for a new 8800GTS)

First thoughts was an SLI set up and the Nvidia 680i. I haven't done much research on 680i motherboards yet, but the EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 looks great to me.

Second thought was to stick with the P35, buy one video card and keep a few bucks to myself.

Last, the not ready for prime time X38. Everything I've read as of yet kind of tells me to save my money and pass on this, especially with the X48 not too far away. BUT, I've heard a rumor that it might get some kind of a BIOS update to run SLI. I really don't know enough if that's possible, but if that's true at all I think I would rather go for an X38 than a 680i.

I know some of this is left to speculation. Just like to hear what you would do if you were ready to buy now. Pros and cons?

Thanks in advance!

byrddogg77

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2006
Hi Fling,