[SOLVED] New build randomly restarting

Dec 15, 2020
Hello, I am new to building computers and am having a frustrating problem with my new build. The computer will run just fine for hours, or even a day or two, and then suddenly restart. Sometimes it restarts back to windows in one try, other times it will restart again multiple times as it tries to reach the login screen. A friend of mine thought perhaps it was the motherboard so I got a new one and clean installed windows on a brand new ssd but the problem still persists.

Here is the build: https://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/Confectionery/saved/#view=tbvLsY. (The only old parts are the case, graphics card, and another hdd being used for storage, it's a western digital but I don't recall the model. There is no OS installed on it, I had reformatted it recently so to use it's full capacity.) I did briefly switch from my new psu to my old but it still restarted at seemingly random.

I have updated the bios to the most recent (non-beta) version just tonight in the hopes that it will help (though it didn't on the original motherboard either). I'm sorry if I'm lacking important information, while I've used computers for a long time, building and troubleshooting problems is still very new to me. I tried to update the i225v ethernet driver but the firmware tool does not seem to update properly, not sure if that could be causes the crashes but I did also disable the ethernet driver because I use a usb wifi adapter. I have installed the chipset drivers.

Thanks and let me know of any information that I could provide to help figure things out.

Last edited:

Ralston18

Titan
First:

Look in Reliability History for error codes and warnings that correspond to the restarts. The timeline format can be very revealing and you can click on any given error more more "technical details". The technical details may or may not be helpful.