New build stopped booting, no video output

jonathand

Honorable
Jul 19, 2012
Hello, this is my first time posting in a forum/thread, so please bear with me. Also, I'm 17 and this is my first (hopefully not last) build :)

The tower boots, stays on for a few seconds, then shuts off suddenly. It then turns back on by itself and remains on without sending video output.

I recently built a gaming rig and after I finished, it booted up just fine. I installed Windows 7 and started installing updates; that was on Tuesday. It is now Thursday and I'm not getting any video signal from my graphics card. It was working fine last night before I went to bed, but the first time it stopped working was this evening when I got home after work. I did take out the RAM this morning and look at the label because the BIOS reads it as 1333 MHz even though it's supposed to be 1600 MHz. I reinstalled the memory and left for work, and that was the last time I touched anything inside the case.

Everytime I press the power button, the system boots up; the cooler fans and GPU fans start spinning and the LED case fan lights come on. The power LED indicator on the front lights up. Then about 2-3 seconds in, everything shuts off, all the fans and lights and everything, almost as if someone pulled the power cable. Then everything turns on again and stays on, but no video signal gets from the graphics card to the monitor. After this happened the first time, I held down the power button to force a shutdown, then tried powering it on again, and the same thing happened.

I thought maybe it was the graphics card, so I plugged the HDMI cable into the motherboard HDMI port to use the integrated graphics, but it didn't work.

Specs are as followed (everything is new):
Intel Core i5-3570K (didn't get the chance to overclock yet)
ASUS Z77 Sabertooth Motherboard
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600 MHz
Corsair Hydro H80 liquid cooler
ASUS 2GB Radeon HD 7850 Direct CU II
Thermaltake 750Watt SMART Series (modular PSU)