New Built Rig doesn't show Windows in BIOS, Constant Freezing.

Oct 24, 2018
Hey Everyone,

I have gone insane with this problem. I build a new computer back in April, everything seemed fine as expected. A few months down the road I ran into some freezing issues and thought, "Okay this is weird and I can manage." Sometime later, the problem became worse and worse. To the point whenever I start my PC, the computer doesn't recognize windows 10 initially (Won't boot automatically). I have to go into the BIOS, Reset the computer, Go back into the BIOS, and then Windows becomes a boot option. My Macbook Pro from 2012 starts up faster. Programs frequently say "Not Responding". The programs used to work themselves out after some time but now everything freezes for 10 mins.

I've tried a CMOS reset. I am new to managing a newly built computer so I need some help identifying the issue and points of attack. Thank you for your patience and help.

(If you need visuals, I have photos)

(There are 3 boot options: Windows, DRW-21ST, and one other. Sometimes it will display everything but windows or just DRW as a boot option)

SPECS:
GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX
Thermaltake TR2 TR-600 600W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Power Supply
GeIL EVO POTENZA 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Z370P D3 Motherboard
Intel Core i5
Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer SATA Drive
TP-Link TL-WDN4800 2.4Ghz/5GHz 450Mbps Dual Band Wi-Fi
Windows 10 OEM

Welcome to Tom's!

What devices do you have for storage? Is Windows installed to a SSD or HDD?
At any rate, I suspect you are having issues with your boot device.

Oct 24, 2018

Thank you for the warm welcome!

I have a CD/DVD STATA drive. Could it really be my boot device if the computer keeps freezing and programs frequently say "Not Responding"?